You cart is empty

EUphonie I

Composer: Jon Laukvik

Instrument: Percussion

Level: Advanced

Published: 2014

Price: €30.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 9 min.

      My colleague, friend, and mentor Werner Jacob († 2006) commissioned this piece in the middle of  the 1980es. He played the first performance in the church of St. Sebald, Nuremberg; my colleague Klaus Treßelt conducted. I thank Klaus warmly for his commitment to this piece through many years.   

      The letters EU in the title has no political significance. In German music terminology, E means ernste Musik (“serious music”) and U Unterhaltungsmusik (“entertainment music”). This piece wants   to offer both aspects. The combination of the two letters, EU, means “good” in Greek language. Euphonie therefore means “well sounding”.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Percussionist I: 
      2 Cow-bells (f sharp, g sharp)
      1 Cymbal (suspended)
      3 Antique Cymbals
      2 Temple Blocks 
      2 Bongos 
      Marimba (shared with perc. II)   

      Percussionist II: 

      Marimba (shared with perc. I) 

      Percussionist III: 
      Marimba Vibraphone (shared with perc. IV)

      Percussionist IV: 
      Tubular bells

      Percussionist V: 
      4 Kettle Drums (G/C/A/A)
      Glass Chimes    


  • About the composer +
    • Jon Laukvik was born in 1952 and received his earliest music training as organist and pianist in his native town Oslo. He went on to study organ at the University of Music in Cologne with Michael Schneider and harpsichord with Hugo Ruf. He also studied organ privately with Marie-Claire Alain in Paris.

      From 1980 till 2016, he was professor at the University of Music and Performing Arts Stuttgart. Since 2001 he is also professor at the Norwegian Academy of Music in Oslo. He is also a visiting professor at the Royal Academy of Music, London. 

      Jon Laukvik has toured throughout Europe, Canada, Japan, Korea, Israel and the United States. He is frequently in demand to serve on competition juries and to teach seminars and masterclasses. 

      He is author of a highly successful organ tutor Historical Performance Practice in Organ Playing in three volumes, published by Carus-Verlag.

      He has edited the Handel Organ Concerti Op. 7 for Carus-Verlag (together with Werner Jacob). A complete edition of the organ works of Louis Vierne in 13 volumes (edited together with David Sanger) was published by Carus-Verlag in 2008. 

      His compositions include works for solo organ, organ with other instruments (i.e. piano, percussion, trumpet, trombone, cello, horn) as well as vocal and instrumental works.

  • Reviews +
    • To come.

  • Credits +
    • Front cover graphics: Sune Kliborg Lynge (Kliborg Design)
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER
      Engraving: Johan Svitzer