You cart is empty

Blue Memories

Composer: Daniel Berg

Instrument: Marimba

Level: Intermediate

Published: 2010

Price: €16.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 3 min.

      Some memories are easy to tell - others are more like a feeling, difficult to put into words. This piece is an attempt to describe this feeling in music.

      The harmonic tension between G major and F sharp minor, creates a melancholy mood - a kind of nostalgia - Blue Memories.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Marimba

  • Watch+
    • Blue Memories by Daniel Berg
      Performed by Daniel Berg

      Blue Memories by Daniel Berg
      Performed by Lynn Vartan

      Online Marimba Lesson with Lynn Varten

      Blue Memories by Daniel Berg
      Performed by Lynn Vartan

      Blue Memories by Daniel Berg
      Performed by ?

      Blue Memories by Daniel Berg
      Performed by ?

      Blue Memories by Daniel Berg
      Performed by Laura Hamel

      Blue Memories by Daniel Berg
      Performed by ?

      Blue Memories by Daniel Berg
      Performed by Katarzyna Myćka

  • About the composer +
    • Daniel Berg is a Swedish composer, musician and professor in classical percussion. He combines the role of writing music with being a versatile musician and teaches solo percussion and chamber music at the University College of Music in Gothenburg, Stockholm and Örebro in Sweden. 

      In his passion to promote the marimba as a solo- and chamber music instrument, Daniel has worked intimately with a number of composers who have written original music for the instrument. This includes more than 250 world premieres for solo and chamber works. Daniel Berg is an artist of Bergerault Marimbas and Elite Mallets. 

      As a composer Daniel has written a lot for percussion published by Edition Svitzer like his Kroumata for percussion sextet, Images for Percussion Duo and Yán Jiāng (Magma) for solo marimba - a commission from the Taiwan World Percussion Competition 2020.

  • Reviews +
    • Review (Percussive Notes, May 2012)

      Creating his own unique voice for marimba, Daniel Berg demonstrates compositional strategies similar to “December” in this work. Displaying elements of simplicity, this mellow composition is only 47 measures in duration. Highly idiomatic, the composer uses three sticking permutations to structure the thematic material. While there are double vertical and single independent strokes, a majority of the piece revolves around lateral strokes. Also maintaining a consistency in intervals, the left hand has a strong presence of fourths and fifths while the right hand incorporates a lot of octaves. 

      Suitable for the developing marimbist, this short work would be a quick study for a young collegiate or advanced high school percussionist. In order to elicit the nostalgic character intended by the composer, any student will be challenged to obtain the desired mood through the endless stream of sixteenth notes. This is an excellent option for those who enjoy the sound of Berg’s works but would like a less virtuosic option than “Over the Moon.”

      —Darin Olson

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics and layout: Ronni Kot Wenzell
      Enamel painting: Bengt Berglund
      Engraving: Johan Svitzer
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER