You cart is empty


Composer: Jon Laukvik

Instrument: Trombone and Organ

Level: Advanced

Published: 2016

Price: €22.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 7 min.

      The suggestion to write a piece for trombone and organ came from Anders Eidsten Dahl (organ) and Marius Hesby (trombone). They played the first performance on March 12, 2010 in the Fagerborg church during the Oslo International Church Music Festival.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Trombone and Organ

  • About the composer +
    • Jon Laukvik was born in 1952 and received his earliest music training as organist and pianist in his native town Oslo. He went on to study organ at the University of Music in Cologne with Michael Schneider and harpsichord with Hugo Ruf. He also studied organ privately with Marie-Claire Alain in Paris.

      From 1980 till 2016, he was professor at the University of Music and Performing Arts Stuttgart. Since 2001 he is also professor at the Norwegian Academy of Music in Oslo. He is also a visiting professor at the Royal Academy of Music, London. 

      Jon Laukvik has toured throughout Europe, Canada, Japan, Korea, Israel and the United States. He is frequently in demand to serve on competition juries and to teach seminars and masterclasses. 

      He is author of a highly successful organ tutor Historical Performance Practice in Organ Playing in three volumes, published by Carus-Verlag.

      He has edited the Handel Organ Concerti Op. 7 for Carus-Verlag (together with Werner Jacob). A complete edition of the organ works of Louis Vierne in 13 volumes (edited together with David Sanger) was published by Carus-Verlag in 2008. 

      His compositions include works for solo organ, organ with other instruments (i.e. piano, percussion, trumpet, trombone, cello, horn) as well as vocal and instrumental works.

  • Credits +
    • Front cover graphics: Gaia Gomes
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER
      Engraving: Thomas Ehn

Related publications