You cart is empty

Dances on Flowers

Composer: Yevhen Stankovych

Instrument: Flute and Piano

Level: Advanced

Published: 2011

Price: €24.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 9 min.

      Sonata No. 2 for flute and piano “Dances on Flowers” is written under the influence of the childhood memories of Hans Christian Andersen’s wonderful fairy tales, who for many years tried to create a better world for us. This is an attempt, although for a short time, to return to this wonderful world of the forgotten spiritual poetics that is so important for every child and adult, in a world of lost beauty, kindness and mercy, light and bright dreams of fancy. The fairy tale “Thumbelina”, especially its ending, is a bright example as said above.

      Dances on Flowers is dedicated to Henrik Svitzer.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Flute and Piano

  • About the composer +
    • The Ukrainian composer Yevhen Stankovych is one of the most outstanding figures in the world of music at the end of the 20th century. The collapse of the U.S.S.R. gave him the opportunity to establish contacts with the world, resulting in recordings of his music by various companies and the performance of his works by performers in other countries, bringing him wide recognition as one of the most individualistic and eminent composers of our time.

  • Reviews +
    • Mogens Wenzel Andreasen, author & candidatus in science of music:

       "Yevhen Stankovych is an outstanding gifted composer, which every musiclover can relate to: beautiful music and always deeply original and recognizable as his own. Stankovych is not a Russian composer – he's Ukrainian, but even then he is able to continuing the inheritance from the great Russian tradition such as Stravinskij, Prokofiev and Shostakovich".

  • Credits +
    • Front cover artist: Olga Rapay
      Front cover graphics and layout: Ronni Kot Wenzell
      Copyright © Edition Svitzer  
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark