You cart is empty


Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

Instrument: Flute Quartet

Level: Advanced

Published: 2012

Price: €35.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Arranged by Ichiro Nodaira
      Duration: 8 min.

      Performing artists:
      András Adorján, Shigenori Kudo, Rena Watanabe and Hidehiro Kakinouchi,
      Hamamatsu (Japan), July 31st, 2011

      Ciaccona, the fifth and last movement of the „Second Partita in D-minor, BWV 1004“ for violin solo by Johann Sebastian Bach, is in the present arrangement scored for three concert flutes and one alto flute.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Flute Quartet

  • About the composer +
    • Johann Sebastian Bach (31 March 1685 – 28 July 1750) was a German composer and musician of the Baroque period. He enriched established German styles through his skill in counterpoint, harmonic and motivic organisation, and the adaptation of rhythms, forms, and textures from abroad, particularly from Italy and France. Bach's compositions include the Brandenburg Concertos, the Goldberg Variations, the Mass in B minor, two Passions, and over three hundred cantatas of which around two hundred survive. His music is revered for its technical command, artistic beauty, and intellectual depth. 

      Bach's abilities as an organist were highly respected during his lifetime, although he was not widely recognised as a great composer until a revival of interest and performances of his music in the first half of the 19th century. He is now generally regarded as one of the greatest composers of all time.

Related publications