You cart is empty

Duo Arpeggio

Composer: Anders Åstrand

Instrument: Percussion Duo

Level: Intermediate

Published: 2010

Price: €16.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 7 min.

      Written to Rhythm Art Duo (Fredrik Duvling & Daniel Berg)

  • Instrumentation +
    • Percussion Duo

      Required Instruments:
      Marimba and Vibraphone

  • Watch+
  • About the composer +
    • As a mallet specialist, Åstrand regularly performs recitals and gives clinics throughout the US and Europe, both as a soloist and together with his percussion ensemble Global Percussion Network. Anders Åstrand has several times performed at PASIC (Percussive Arts Society International Convention).

      In his compositions, Åstrand focuses on improvisation as an essential feature for soloists as well as the ensemble. In addition to mallet music, Åstrand has been commissioned to composes for brass quintets, saxophone quartet, choirs, and big band. A more spectacular side features compositions for ice instruments to be performed by percussion ensemble (one of the concerts also featured fighter aircraft as instruments), tractors, and an entire building being inaugurated. Åstrand has also composed music for multimedia performances including dance, video projections, ice instruments, and fire sculptures.

  • Reviews +
    • Percussive Notes, March, 2012


      If playing mallet instruments is fun, then playing this latest offering from Anders Åstrand is super fun! This seven minute four-mallet duet is saturated with returning permutation patterns, outlined 7th chords, and a character and feel that is signature Åstrand.

      Comprised of two sections, this work begins with bowed vibraphone notes over chordal outlines from the marimbist. The second half bumps up the tempo and the groove factor with almost continuous sixteenth notes to the end of the piece that shifts through various 7th chords and harmonies. During musically active sections, the backbone of each part breaks down to arpeggiated 4ths or 5ths, making the music accessible to performers with a wide spectrum of experience levels. In spite of the simplicity of its structure, this is an extremely rewarding work that is sure to win over any audience.

      Joshua D. Smith

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics and layout: Ronni Kot Wenzell
      Engraving: Johan Svitzer
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER

Related publications