You cart is empty

Easy Solos Vol. 1

Composer: Daniel Berg

Instrument: Marimba, Vibraphone or Xylophone

Level: Easy

Published: 2014

Price: €16.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 15 min.

      "In the early 1970s the legendary percussionist Mitchell Peters composed unforgettable works for the young marimba player such as Sea Reflections and Yellow after the Rain. Now Daniel Berg continues Peters pedagogical idea of ​​a repertoire that is idiomatic while musically challenging for the young percussionist. 

      This booklet contains five solo pieces with four mallets for vibraphone, xylophone or marimba. All works have the range F-F and can therefore be played on any mallet instrument."

      Easy Duets with duets for mallet instruments by Daniel Berg are previously published by Edition Svitzer. The books have been very well received among young students and teachers around the world.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Marimba, Vibraphone or Xylophone

  • Watch+
  • About the composer +
    • Daniel Berg is a Swedish composer, musician and professor in classical percussion. He combines the role of writing music with being a versatile musician and teaches solo percussion and chamber music at the University College of Music in Gothenburg, Stockholm and Örebro in Sweden. 

      In his passion to promote the marimba as a solo- and chamber music instrument, Daniel has worked intimately with a number of composers who have written original music for the instrument. This includes more than 250 world premieres for solo and chamber works. Daniel Berg is an artist of Bergerault Marimbas and Elite Mallets. 

      As a composer Daniel has written a lot for percussion published by Edition Svitzer like his Kroumata for percussion sextet, Images for Percussion Duo and Yán Jiāng (Magma) for solo marimba - a commission from the Taiwan World Percussion Competition 2020.

  • Reviews +
    • Percussive Notes, November 2016

      Easy Solos Volumes 1 and 2 presents a progressive selection of ten four-mallet keyboard percussion solos that can be played on marimba, xylophone, or vibraphone. Using simple rhythms, extensive repetition, and singularly-focused technique approach, these collections would be suitable for elementary or middle school percussionists who are just beginning to explore four-mallet technique. The limited range of these solos (three octaves, F to F) ensure that they can be played on marimba, vibraphone, or xylophone. Pedagogically, this allows students to transfer a solo they have already learned to a different keyboard percussion instrument, encouraging them to focus on unique technical considerations (e.g., pedaling on vibraphone) or to explore the development of touch and tone on different keyboard percussion instruments.

      The second volume explores more advanced musical concepts, such as boxed melodic cells that can be repeated ad lib, odd time signatures, and elements of formal structure (first and second endings, da capo markings, etc.) that will reinforce or introduce important elements of musical performance.

      For beginning students, these pieces will serve as a solid musical introduction to four-mallet technique and grand-staff notation, inspiring curiosity to continue to more advanced literature and technical prowess.

      —Justin Alexander

  • Credits +
    • Illustrations: Jacob Niclas Tersmeden
      Front Cover layout: Ronni Kot Wenzell
      Photo: Per Buhre
      Engraving: Johan Svitzer
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER