You cart is empty


Composer: Friedrich Kuhlau

Instrument: Flute Ensemble

Level: Advanced

Published: 2012

Price: €49.00

Item details

  • Description +
  • Instrumentation +
    • Flute Ensemble:

      11 Flutes and Harp

  • About the composer +
    • Friedrich Kuhlau was born in 1786 in Uelzen in Germany and died in 1832 in Denmark in Lyngby near Copenhagen. 1810 he had decided to settle in Denmark in order to avoid forced conscription in the Napoleonic army and was granted Danish citizenship as early as 1813. With his incidental music (op. 100) to Elverhøj (The Elf Hill), composed for a play by the Danish poet Johan Ludwig Heiberg (1791–1860), Kuhlau became the Danish composer of his time.

      He was one of the most prolific composers for flute. His works include music for flute in various combinations – for flute alone, two flutes, three flutes, four flutes, flute and piano, three quintetts for flute and strings and this trio for two flutes and piano. Besides providing good literature for the flute Kuhlau was equally productive and successful composing for the piano.