You cart is empty

Philo Sophie

Composer: Johannes Steinbauer

Instrument: Vibraphone

Level: Intermediate/Advanced

Published: 2021

Price: €16.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: approx. 11 min.

      PHILO SOPHIE is a fantasy for vibraphone, which is divided into two parts. 

      The first part begins celestially and mysteriously, followed by isolated, in part still fragmented “ideas”. 

      In the second part, these “ideas” appear in a more structured form, transform and finally disappear into nothing. 

      To give the interpretation as much freedom as possible, no dynamics are marked.  The motor should be used in both parts of the piece – the ad lib. marking prefers to the speed of the motor. 

      I wish all vibraphonists a lot of fun and success with PHILO SOPHIE

      Special thanks to Matti Opiola for the intensive interpretation and Thorsten Blumberg for the professional and creative production of the presentation video.

      Johannes Steinbauer
      Bonn, November 2021

  • Instrumentation +
    • Vibraphone

  • Watch+
    • Performed by Matti Opiola

  • About the composer +
    • Johannes Steinbauer was born in 1973 in Bavaria (Germany) and started drumming in a brass band at the age of 11. Later, he was taught by Christian Obermaier, who laid the groundwork for his professional training.   

      In 1993, whilst studying with Prof. Arnold F. Riedhammer at the „Richard Strauss Konservatorium“ in Munich, Johannes Steinbauer won a position as percussionist in the „Beethoven Orchester Bonn“. In 2001 he was appointed Principal Percussionist of the „WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln“. 

      Studies for snare drum and percussion were written in 2019, based on decades of orchestral experience. In 2020, Johannes Steinbauer composed his first solo pieces, including the 2020 Solo Trilogy for Vibraphone and Percussion, which was produced by the Westdeutscher Rundfunk, Cologne in 2021. 

      For more information, please visit www.charakter-etueden.de

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover: Julia Okon
      Front Cover Artwork: Nicola Lee
      Photo: Thorsten Blumberg
      Translation: Dan Townsend
      Engraving: Johannes Steinbauer
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER