You cart is empty

Grand Trio Concertant, opus 119

Composer: Friedrich Kuhlau

Instrument: 2 Flutes and Piano (Flute, Violin or Cello and Piano)

Level: Advanced

Published: 2021

Price: €30.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Edited by András Adorján
      Duration: 18 min.

      András Adorján, Flute
      Maxence Larrieu, Flute
      Yumiko Urabe, Piano
      Fontec FOCD 20080 (live 2002)

      The „Grand Trio Concertant pour deux Flûtes et Piano“, opus 119, written in 1831, is the last and perhaps best piece for flute by the Danish national composer Friedrich Kuhlau.

  • Instrumentation +
    • 2 Flutes and Piano
      also Flute, Violin and Piano or Flute, Cello and Piano

  • About the composer +
    • Friedrich Kuhlau was born in 1786 in Uelzen in Germany and died in 1832 in Denmark in Lyngby near Copenhagen. 1810 he had decided to settle in Denmark in order to avoid forced conscription in the Napoleonic army and was granted Danish citizenship as early as 1813. With his incidental music (op. 100) to Elverhøj (The Elf Hill), composed for a play by the Danish poet Johan Ludwig Heiberg (1791–1860), Kuhlau became the Danish composer of his time.

      He was one of the most prolific composers for flute. His works include music for flute in various combinations – for flute alone, two flutes, three flutes, four flutes, flute and piano, three quintetts for flute and strings and this trio for two flutes and piano. Besides providing good literature for the flute Kuhlau was equally productive and successful composing for the piano.

  • Reviews +
    • 2 Flutes and Piano
      Friedrich Kuhlau : Grand Trio Concertant op. 119 - Édition Svitzer

      A wonderful edition, supervised by András Adorján, of one of the most brilliant and for sure one of the best trios for two flutes and piano. Two other versions exist of this last piece for flute of Fr. Kuhlau (1796-1832), written in 1831: one for flute, violin and piano and another one for flute, cello and piano. Both arrangements were made after the death of the composer. In the Svitzer edition – as usual – all three versions are included. (Preface in English, German and Danish).

      la Traversières magazine
      La revue officielle de l'association Française de la flûte
      No 139 2021
      Jean-Luc Abras