You cart is empty


Composer: Yevhen Stankovych

Instrument: Flute and Piano

Level: Advanced

Published: 2007

Price: €15.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 8 min.

      Stankovych believes that a composer cannot create music in isolation from his cultural lifeline, and tries to maintain that lifeline with his audience.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Flute and Piano

  • About the composer +
    • The Ukrainian composer Yevhen Stankovych is one of the most outstanding figures in the world of music at the end of the 20th century. The collapse of the U.S.S.R. gave him the opportunity to establish contacts with the world, resulting in recordings of his music by various companies and the performance of his works by performers in other countries, bringing him wide recognition as one of the most individualistic and eminent composers of our time.

  • Reviews +
    • Michel Debost, prof. of flute at Oberlin College, USA:

      "Stankovych’s music is well written for the flute, alternating technical, sometimes violent, passages and dreamy episodes in the "Sonata"; poetic, peaceful, harmonic moods, especially in the "Idyll". This way of composing is very effective, and speaks to the listener as well as, no doubt, to the performer.

      Lena Kildahl, solo flutist at the Aarhus Symphony Orchestra:  

      "Idyll" is a relaxing and almost meditative piece of music. Immediately the composer shows the beauty in the sound of the flute. The piece has clarity and purity and at the same time it is narrative and very melodious. "Seeing" the music in this print invites you to start playing it......NOW

  • Credits +
    • Front cover artist: Olga Rapay
      Front cover graphics and layout: Ronni Kot Wenzell
      Copyright © Edition Svitzer 
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark