You cart is empty

Partita op. 22

Composer: Asger Lund Christiansen

Instrument: Cello

Level: Advanced

Published: 2010

Price: €23.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 16 min.

      ALC was encouraged by his friend, the composer Vagn Holmboe, to write a concerto for cello & orchestra, but unfortunately he never did. On the other hand ALC composed several chamber works in which the cello takes the main part: Introduction and variations upon a theme by Weber (cello & piano, 1947), Flute & Pizzicato, opus 4B (1974) and 2. Sonatina, opus 21B (cello & piano, 1992). The Partita for cello solo, opus 22 (1988) is inspired by the 6 solo Suites of Johann Sebastian Bach, and the Partita is written for solo cellist John Ehde, who at that time was studying with ALC. John Ehde has kindly agreed to be the editor of this present first edition of the Partita opus 22.

      This publication has only been made possible by the support from The Classical Soloist Association.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Cello

  • About the composer +
    • Asger Lund Christiansen (1927–1998) was a Danish cellist and composer.

      He trained at the Royal Danish Academy of Music, graduating in 1946. Alongside Bløndal Erling Bengtsson, he was his generation's most recognized Danish cellist. In 1957-1995 he played with musicians such as Tutter Givskov, Mogens Ludolph and Mogens Bruun in Copenhagen and also as a soloist, teacher and organizer, he has had a major influence. From 1965-1987, he was a teacher and later professor at the Royal Danish Academy of Music. 

      Asger Lund Christiansen wrote a significant number of compositions. He has written chamber music, instrumental music and orchestral works in a mostly neo-classical style. One of his flute sonatas was premiered by Jean-Pierre Rampal.His son is the flautist and composer Toke Lund Christiansen.

  • Credits +
    • Illustration: Helle Vibeke Jensen
      Front Cover graphics and layout: Ronni Kot Wenzell
      Support from: The Classical Soloist Association
      English translation: Toke Lund Christiansen
      Editor: John Ehde
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER
      Engraving: Johan Svitzer

Related publications