You cart is empty

Sonata No. 1 in A-Major

Composer: Edzard Locher

Instrument: Marimba

Level: Advanced

Published: 2022

Price: €25.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Preface

      This marimba sonata is written in a „double-function form“ as in the words of musicologist William Newman (1912-2000) and stands as a conceptual sibling to Franz Liszts (1811-1886) piano sonata in b-minor. It’s to be read as a single movement in sonata form and as four movements in classic order at the same time. A third form layer occurs when looking at the two sisterworks, sonatas in F-major and c-minor. All three have the same formal structure, are thematically connected via a recurring „sister motif“ and feature three quotes from works by Danish composer Carl Nielsen (1865-1931).

  • Instrumentation +
    • Marimba (5-octave)

  • About the composer +
    • Edzard Locher (born 1989 in Tettnang, Lake Constance) studied percussion, composition and pedagogy in Zurich. He was percussionist with Kiel Philharmonic and Hof Symphony and is principal percussionist with Hessen State Orchestra Wiesbaden since 2016 as well as an associate professor at Wiesbaden Music Academy. He composes works for percussion and has specialized in percussion arrangements of classical music.

  • Credits +
    • With support from Koda’s Cultural Funds

      Painting: "La Primevère" by Alfons Mucha (1860-1939)
      Front Cover Design: Nicola Lee
      Photo: Christoph Risch
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER