You cart is empty

Sonata of the Serenades

Composer: Yevhen Stankovych

Instrument: Flute and Piano

Level: Advanced

Published: 2007

Price: €28.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 13 min.

      "The value of the music is indicated not only by the manner of the writing, nor only by the importance of its musical parts and music preferences, but by the content itself.
      The titles of the movements of the sonata determine the musical content of each movement and of the piece as a whole. The clear contrast between the two movements is the preeminent dramaturgic basis for the sonata".

  • Instrumentation +
    • Flute and Piano

  • About the composer +
    • The Ukrainian composer Yevhen Stankovych is one of the most outstanding figures in the world of music at the end of the 20th century. The collapse of the U.S.S.R. gave him the opportunity to establish contacts with the world, resulting in recordings of his music by various companies and the performance of his works by performers in other countries, bringing him wide recognition as one of the most individualistic and eminent composers of our time.

  • Reviews +
    • Anna Dina Schick, solo flutist at the Royal Danish Orchestra


      "Yevhen Stankovychs compositions for flute and piano offer a wide variety of ways to explore the unique tone clours of the flute. Technically challenging, highly expressive and captivating is his "Sonata of the Serenades", a piece that will hopefully make its way into the standard duo repertoire of every flutist and pianist today".

      Lena Kildahl, solo flutist at the Aarhus Symphony Orchestra

      "In Sonata of the Serenades both the performer and the listener are challenged ! It is a demanding piece – the music is very intense and insisting; not leaving the listener but enveloping her in a melodious tone. The composer has reached to the spirit of the flute and I am reminded of some of our great masterpieces – birds whistling, incantations".

      Pierre-Yves Artaud, prof. at the National Music Academy in Paris:

      "Both Idyll and Sonata of the Serenades are full of science and sensitivity, and the virtuoso passages are never empty of meaning: they communicate great happiness! I am sure these pieces will have a successful life, with flutists of course, but also with all music lovers who appreciate real expressiveness and sensitivity in music".

  • Credits +
    • Front cover artist: Olga Rapay
      Front cover graphics and layout: Ronni Kot Wenzell
      Copyright © Edition Svitzer 
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark