You cart is empty

Ballet Suite No. 4

Composer: Dmitrij Sjostakovitj

Instrument: Flute Ensemble

Level: Advanced

Published: 2020

Price: €38.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Incredible Shostakovich ! From one simple theme he manages to produce – with equal ease – a dark and gloomy piece, a sweet and nostalgic melody or a breathtaking song.

      We know he lived in a totalitarian society, where nationalism tries to impose its constraints and straitjackets onto the artistic language.

      His music is extraordinary because one can sense the fight for freedom, the contradictions of man… We get a glimpse of the the regime’s official composer (in the introduction, the Limpid Stream passage, the ballet staged in a collective farm of the party), of the restricted man (forced to a more traditionalist approach in the writing of his valz, extracted from the East-German propagandist film Song of the Great Rivers), forced to conform to the ideals of the regime… Yet everything he cannot say, his music expresses : struggle, dissent, resistance, freedom!

  • Instrumentation +
    • Flute Ensemble:

      1 Piccolo
      4 Flutes
      1 Alto Flute
      1 Bass Flute
      1 Contra Bass Flute

  • About the composer +
    • Dmitri Dmitriyevich Shostakovich was a Russian composer and pianist. He is regarded as one of the major composers of the 20th century, with a unique harmonic language and a historic importance due to his years of work under Stalin.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics and layout: Ronni Kot Wenzell
      Engraving: Juliette Dominski / Johan Svitzer
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER

Related publications