You cart is empty


Composer: Georgios Tsolis

Instrument: Orchestra & Jazz Quartet

Level: Intermediate/Advanced

Published: 2024

Price: €60.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 22 min.

      As you set out for Ithaka
      hope your road is a long one,
      full of adventure, full of discovery.
      Laistrygonians, Cyclops,
      angry Poseidon—don’t be afraid of them:
      you’ll never find things like that on your way
      as long as you keep your thoughts raised high,
      as long as a rare excitement
      stirs your spirit and your body.
      Laistrygonians, Cyclops,
      wild Poseidon—you won’t encounter
      them unless you bring them along inside your soul,
      unless your soul sets them up in front of you.

      Hope your road is a long one.
      May there be many summer mornings when,
      with what pleasure, what joy,
      you enter harbors you’re seeing for the first time;
      may you stop at Phoenician trading stations
      to buy fine things,
      mother of pearl and coral, amber and ebony,
      sensual perfume of every kind—
      as many sensual perfumes as you can;
      and may you visit many Egyptian cities
      to learn and go on learning from their scholars.

      Keep Ithaka always in your mind.
      Arriving there is what you’re destined for.
      But don’t hurry the journey at all.
      Better if it lasts for years,
      so you’re old by the time you reach the island,
      wealthy with all you’ve gained on the way,
      not expecting Ithaka to make you rich.

      Ithaka gave you the marvelous journey.
      Without her you wouldn't have set out.
      She has nothing left to give you now.

      And if you find her poor, Ithaka won’t have fooled you.
      Wise as you will have become, so full of experience,
      you’ll have understood by then what these Ithakas mean.
      By C. P. Cavafy
      Translated by Edmund Keeley

      The composer defers this work  in different “scenes” from the night before Ulysses departure, the settling out, the battle, the pain of the loss, the agony, the pleasure at Kirki's Island, but also the pain of the return and finally the return itself as a salvation, as a final signature to life’s adventure.

      A work of programmatic music including influences from the French impressionism the mysticism of Aleksandr Skrjabin and the adventure of improvisation with elements of jazz, all together in a Symphonic Poem that attempts to describe the life philosophy of the traveler and the way to knowledge and wisdom.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Orchestra

      Cor anglais
      Clarinet in Bb

      Horn in F
      Trumpet in Bb
      Tenor Trombone



      Jazz Rhythm Section
      Double Bass
      Drum Set

  • About the composer +
    • Born and raised in Kefalonia, Ionian Islands, Greek pianist and composer Georgios Tsolis currently resides in the Hague, the Netherlands since 2004. Studied at the Royal Conservatory of the Hague where he gained his bachelor and masters in jazz piano performance. Emerging from the jazz scene as an established musician, he has been active for the last 15 years with appearances in various festivals and locations around Europe, receiving excellent reviews for his work both as a composer and performer.

      Composition has always been the key element and life companion in his musical journey. “Daring to diverge” is an expression of creativity for him. A constant quest for oneself as the key to continuous progress and development is a view of life and music is his vehicle to this quest. He composed music for solo piano, jazz trios, quartets, big band and orchestra. Lately he is debuting as a composer into the world of contemporary classical music with a series of sonatas for solo marimba and many more to come.

      As a composer, he has the tendency to experiment with the expansion of the harmonic and melodic language within traditional forms. His musical influences from jazz and improvisation, to Greek traditional music and classical, is incorporate into his music; a coexistence and guide on the way to the development of his own sound and language.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover Artist: Nicola Lee
      Photo: YIannis Lostopoulos
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER
      With support from Koda’s Cultural Funds

Related publications