You cart is empty

La petite variation

Composer: Jean-Luc Rimey-Meille

Instrument: Two Marimbas

Level: Advanced

Published: 2016

Price: €20.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 7 min.

      This music is built around a rhythm chasing that develops itself into an harmonic spiral cycle. Alternatively, each marimba speaks feeding the fairly linear shape of the music by a succession of rhythmic and syncopated elements, with an ostinato melodic counterpoint. The resolution of this perpetual movement ends with a temporal increase in each cell with an ending longer each time. At the very ending, the small initial theme is superposing in this complex interweaving.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Marimba Duo

  • Watch+
    • Performed by I.N.K. Experiment Duo feat. Jean-Luc Rimey-Meille

  • About the composer +
    • Jean-Luc Rimey-Meille is one of the most active players and the most eclectic of the French scene of percussion.

      Interpreter in a variety of fields, classical music, contemporary music, jazz, rock, he is a founding member of the Percussions à Claviers de Lyon where he was a soloist for 19 years, he also created Orkestra Percussion composed of highlevel percussionists students Conservatory of Lyon who celebrated his 10 years in June 2016, also, he is a founding member of Beat in Progress dominant percussion quintet, consisting of Nicolas Martynciow, Damien Petitjean, Philippe Limoge, Claude Thiebault and himself.

      Professor at the Conservatory of Lyon since 2002, he is also a composer and writes for all types of formations, from duo to full orchestra as Mix with Doudou N'Diaye Rose and The Big Note (music by Frank Zappa), control The ensemble, Basse-Normandie Regional Orchestra or Different Activities, multi percussion concerto and string ensemble created by Attilio Terlizzi. Many of his songs are edited (from duo to quintet) and recently, a collection of small musical theater pieces for various instruments and a multi percussion and digital audio music piece just appeared.

      His last concerto for Marimba and Orchestra Samplings was created by Damien Petitjean marimba and orchestra of Besançon under the direction of Jean François Verdier 9 & 10 October 2012.

      He has created in May 2016, a theater performance Musical trio Scènes de Ménages with Pierre Rouyer and Muguette Rimey Meille & himself, directed by Roger Germser with texts and musics he composed.

      He just closed the 2016 festival Tapages which as artistic director.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics and layout: Gaia Gomes
      Engraving: Jean-Luc Rimey-Meille
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER

Related publications