You cart is empty

Autumn Garden

Composer: Janne Tuomi

Instrument: Marimba & Multi Percussion

Level: Advanced

Published: 2008

Price: €21.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 9 min.

      The piece was composed in Denmark and it is strongly influenced by Scandinavian and Japanese modern music and art. Its musical language is modern, but rooted in several musical cultures.

      My piece retains a strong feel of North and Autumn, the beautiful yellow and red leaves, sudden frost in a morning sunrise and migratory birds gathering to head South. In Autumn the nature is preparing to survive the Winter. But Spring comes always and new and beautiful things start to blossom. This natural cycle of life is something that touches every living being. Yet every one of us experiences it in their own way.

  • Instrumentation +
    • 1 Marimba (4 2/3)
      1 Tam-Tam
      1 Bass Drum
      1 Conga
      2 Bongos
      2 Cymbals
      1 Gong
      3 Wood-Blocks

  • About the composer +
    • For more information please contact the Publishing House

  • Reviews +
    • George Frock (PAS)

      The title of this work is a description of the content of this unaccompanied multiple percussion solo. There are a variety of textures, mood shifts, and colors in this three-movement piece. The first and last movements are written for a low-A marimba. Sandwiched between these movements is a movement consisting of drum sounds, extended with a variety of cymbal tones, tam-tam, and woodblocks. The composer also calls for Chinese cymbals and an opera gong that has a descending pitch.

      The style of writing for each movement includes an opportunity for freedom and expression, and provides an opportunity for the artist to use his or her own personality in the performance. Although the three movements are written as separate pieces, the performance should move between movements, creating a sense that it is really one broader movement. This is an excellent opportunity for young to advanced college students to experience multiple percussion performance in a musical manner.

  • Credits +
    • Painting: Kusti Vuorinen
      Front Cover graphics and layout: Ronni Kot Wenzell
      Photo: Janne Tuomi
      Translation: Jan Williams
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition Svitzer

Related publications