You cart is empty

Sonata for two Pianos

Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart / arr. Edzard Locher

Instrument: Marimba Quartet

Level: Intermediate/Advanced

Published: 2023

Price: €40.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • This score displays Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart‘s (1756-1791) „Sonata for two Pianos“ KV448 (1784) as an  arrangement for marimba quartet. Primary source is the 1888 edition of the original work published by Alfred Dörffel on Edition Peters in Leipzig.

      Four players on one marimba each are required. Two 4.3 octave marimbas for the upper, two 5 octave marimbas for the lower parts.

      In general marimba 1 corresponds with the first pianists right hand and marimba 3 with his left hand. Same applies to marimbas 2 and 4 for the second pianists hands. Thus a voice swap occurs, significantly altering the appearance of this score regarding the original.

      Lower octaves have been left out or compensated. In some places voices were interchanged between players for technical simplification. Rolls are not intended.

      Written flams are to be played before the time of their main note. Those flams from the original that are to be played on time have already been rewritten in a modern manner according to historical practice.

      Timesignatures are suggestions from the arranger not the composer. Further study letters were added by the arranger. Bars 86 and 281 of the third movement have been added for simplification.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Marimba Quartet

  • About the composer +
    • Born on January 27, 1756, in Salzburg, Austria, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart was a musician capable of playing multiple instruments who started playing in public at the age of 6. Over the years, Mozart aligned himself with a variety of European venues and patrons, composing hundreds of works that included sonatas, symphonies, masses, concertos and operas, marked by vivid emotion and sophisticated textures.


      Edzard Locher (born 1989 in Tettnang, Lake Constance) studied percussion, composition and pedagogy in Zurich. He was percussionist with Kiel Philharmonic and Hof Symphony and is principal percussionist with Hessen State Orchestra Wiesbaden since 2016 as well as an associate professor at Wiesbaden Music Academy. He composes works for percussion and has specialized in percussion arrangements of classical music.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover Motive: Immortality on the Grand Palais in Paris
      Front Cover Design: Nicola Lee
      Photo: Christoph Risch
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER