You cart is empty

Rumble of the Drum

Composer: Tobias Broström

Instrument: Snare Drum

Level: unknown

Published: 2015

Price: €15.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 7 min.

      Composed in 2009, Rumble of the Drum is a technically challenging but musically satisfying solo snare drum piece. With four contrasting sections, section one begins powerfully with contrasting dynamics and groovy metric modulations. It is vital for the performer to execute these metric modulations in order for section two to be played at the correct tempo and feel, which is quite heavily rudimental. In contrast to section two, section three is written with a cadenza-like feel in mind. Here, the performer is able to really show-off their musicianship with extended techniques such as stick-on-stick or hitting the rim of the snare drum. The last section is almost a recapitulation of section two, with a short coda at the end of it. 

      Rumble of the Drum would be a perfect concert piece for any tertiary student, as it would show an enormous palette of technical and musical abilities.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Snare Drum (solo)

  • About the composer +
    • Tobias Broström was born in 1978 in Helsingborg, Sweden. Following four years of percussion studies at the Malmö Academy of Music, he embarked on the pursuit of a Master’s degree in composition, studying with the Swedish composer Rolf Martinsson and the Italian composer Luca Francesconi.

      Broström has composed chamber opera and various chamber music, but during the last years he has mainly focused on orchestral writing in works such as La Danse, Transit Underground, Crimson Skies, Crimson Seas, Kaléidoscope, Violin Concerto, Arena – Percussion Concerto No. 1, Piano Concerto – Belle Epoque, Samsara, Cello Concerto and Lucernaris – Concerto for Trumpet, Live Electronics & Orchestra, which was composed for Håkan Hardenberger. Numerous soloists, conductors, ensembles and orchestras, including, Robin Ticciati, Michael Sanderling, John Storgårds, Anna Larsson, Karen Gomyo, Thomas Søndergård, Andrew Manze, Dima Slobodeniouk, Johannes Gustavsson, Per Tengstrand, Colin Currie, Mats Rondin, Tõnu Kaljuste, Simon Preston, Johan Bridger, Hugo Ticciati, Jaime Martín, BBC Symphony, Detroit Symphony, Dresdner Philharmonie, BBC Philharmonic, Komische Oper Berlin, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Estonian National Orchestra, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, BBC Wales, Gävle SO, Helsingborg SO, Trondheim SO, Malmö SO, Sinfonieorchester St. Gallen, Vogtland Philharmonie, Oviedo SO, NorrlandsOperans SO, Aurora Chamber Orchestra, Brooklyn Rider, Musica Vitae, Third Coast Percussion Quartet, Malleus Incus, Essens:1 and Gageego have performed his works. Tobias’ music have been performed throughout Europe, the USA and Asia.

      Between 2006 – 2009 Tobias was Composer-in-Residence with the Gävle Symphony Orchestra under principal conductor Robin Ticciati, resulting in two new orchestral works each year. Two of these, Crimson Seas & Lucernaris were selected by Swedish Radio to represent Sweden in the European Broadcasting Union’s International Rostrum of Composers in 2007 & 2009. In autumn 2008 his Arena – Solo Version was picked out to be performed at the 52nd International Festival of Contemporary Music at the Venice Biennale and his orchestral piece Transit Underground was nominated for best orchestral piece of the year by Swedish Music Publishers’ Association. In 2010 Lucernaris was nominated for best orchestral piece and in 2012 La Danse was nominated.

  • Reviews +
    • To Come.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics and layout: Gaia Gomes
      Engraving: Tobias Broström
      Photo: Magdalena Prahl Broström
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER