You cart is empty

Rondo in D Major

Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Instrument: Flute and Piano

Level: Advanced

Published: 2016

Price: €20.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 6.30 min.

      The D Major Rondo is not actually a rondo at all, but a movement in sonata form. Instead of the main theme making its usual reappearance each time in the tonic key, Mozart, tongue in cheek, has it returning unexpectedly in D, A, G, D Minor, F and Bb. Unlike a true rondo, Mozart harps on this one theme (an idée fixe of sorts), and develops it as in a sonata-form movement. This Rondo features two bravura episodes and like the two other rondos, ends quietly.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Flute and Piano

  • About the composer +
    • Born on January 27, 1756, in Salzburg, Austria, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart was a musician capable of playing multiple instruments who started playing in public at the age of 6. Over the years, Mozart aligned himself with a variety of European venues and patrons, composing hundreds of works that included sonatas, symphonies, masses, concertos and operas, marked by vivid emotion and sophisticated textures.

  • Reviews +
    • This is a highly convincing arrangement for flute and piano of a work originally written for piano. Dating from 1786–7, this piece takes its theme from JC Bach, whom Mozart had met in London as a child. The flute part is idiomatically arranged, and without knowing the original, one might imagine it had been written with the flute in mind. The piano part is simple, taking mostly the left hand of the original, and leaving the flute to play all of the semiquaver runs. This helps to make it ideal for teachers who are second study pianists, or for young players to explore together. This is a well-presented edition and a welcome addition to the flute’s repertoire.

      Dr. CARLA REES

      From the November issue of Pan
      The Journal of the British Flute Society

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics and layout: Gaia Gomes
      Photo of Robert Stallman: Lisa Kohler
      Engraving: Henrik Svitzer
      Painting of Mozart: Joseph Lange
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER