You cart is empty

Bird of Prey

Composer: Daniel Berg

Instrument: Piccolo and Marimba

Level: Advanced

Published: 2022

Price: €20.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Preface

      During the years, I had the opportunity to work together with many excellent flute players and I really think the combination of Flute and Percussion is a perfect match. A lot of great composers have written for the instruments and through them, I got the inspiration to compose for flute and percussion.

      After composing Dark Shadows, Kinkaku-ji and Second Concerto for Flute & Percussion, all published by Edition Svitzer, I’ve got a question and wish from many flute players to also write something for piccolo and percussion. They are right, there are not so many pieces composed for that combination of instruments.

      Working close to the young virtuous performers, Laura Michelin & Filip Korošec, I had the opportunity to write them Bird of Prey. In the pulsing rhythms, we hear the bird hunting its prey and the harmonies enhance the wildlife, to always be on its guard. In the middle of the piece, the listener is getting a high-flying journey to the lamenting song of a Bird of Prey.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Piccolo and Marimba

  • Watch+
    • Performed by Laura Michelin, piccolo & Filip Korošec, marimba

  • About the composer +
    • Daniel Berg is a Swedish composer, musician and professor in classical percussion. He combines the role of writing music with being a versatile musician and teaches solo percussion and chamber music at the University College of Music in Gothenburg, Stockholm and Örebro in Sweden. 

      In his passion to promote the marimba as a solo- and chamber music instrument, Daniel has worked intimately with a number of composers who have written original music for the instrument. This includes more than 250 world premieres for solo and chamber works. Daniel Berg is an artist of Bergerault Marimbas and Elite Mallets. 

      As a composer Daniel has written a lot for percussion published by Edition Svitzer like his Kroumata for percussion sextet, Images for Percussion Duo and Yán Jiāng (Magma) for solo marimba - a commission from the Taiwan World Percussion Competition 2020.

  • Credits +
    • Enamel painting: Bengt Berglund
      Front Cover: Ronni Kot Wenzell
      Photo: Jon Liinason Photo (Bengt Berglund and Daniel Berg): Pernilla Berg
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER