You cart is empty

Dance of the Cockerels (from act 3 of "Masquerade")

Composer: Carl Nielsen

Instrument: Woodwind Quintet

Level: Advanced

Published: 2019

Price: €45.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 5'30''
      Arranged and edited by Kenny Aaberg Larsen

      ... "Maskarade" was first performed in 1906, and was immediately a blasting success, in contrast to Nielsen's second opera "Saul & David", which only achieved modest success at the premiere, and later went more or less into oblivion. That is, "Maskarade", was a success with the audience, but the press was more reserved. Nevertheless, one can convincingly refer to "Maskarade", as Denmark's national opera. ...

  • Instrumentation +
    • Woodwind Quintet:

      Clarinet in A
      Horn in F

  • About the composer +
    • Carl August Nielsen (9 June 1865 – 3 October 1931) was a Danish musician, conductor and violinist, widely recognized as his country's greatest composer. Brought up by poor but musically talented parents on the island of Funen, he demonstrated his musical abilities at an early age. He initially played in a military band before attending the Royal Danish Academy of Music in Copenhagen from 1884 until December 1886. He premiered his Op. 1, Suite for Strings, in 1888, at the age of 23. The following year, Nielsen began a 16-year stint as a second violinist in the prestigious Royal Danish Orchestra under the conductor Johan Svendsen, during which he played in Giuseppe Verdi's Falstaff and Otello at their Danish premieres. In 1916, he took a post teaching at the Royal Academy and continued to work there until his death.

  • Credits +
    • Painting: Johan Th. Lundbye
      Front Cover graphics and layout: Gaia Gomes
      Editor: Kenny Aaberg Larsen
      Engraving: Henrik Svitzer
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER