You cart is empty

Five Movements from Aladdin Suite

Composer: Carl Nielsen

Instrument: Flute Ensemble

Level: Intermediate/Advanced

Published: 2017

Price: €45.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Suite from Aladdin Arranged for flute ensemble by Juliette Dominski (flute professor from Concervatoire de Musique, Dance, en Art Dramatique de Metz, France)

      Five movements:
      Oriental Festival March
      Aladdin's Dream/Dance of the Morning Mist
      Hindu Dance
      Chinese Dance
      African Dance

      Duration; 12 min.

      I discovered Aladdin stage music a few years ago, when playing opus 34 suite for orchestra. From the first notes, I was utterly moved by the beauty of the piece. What an incredible journey Carl Nielsen is offering with his music! 

      All flutists know Carl Nielsen's concerto for flute, but his symphonic music has surprisingly remained quite unknown in France. Ever since my first encounter with this piece, Aladdin has followed me, haunted me, lived through me...and luckily, the opportunity to arrange this piece for flutes finally showed up. Whether performed by an orchestra, concertband, flutes choir or by two flutes and a piano (available in Svitzer’s catalogue), I keep admiring this masterpiece.  

      I hope that everyone, flutists and audience, will feel the energy and emotions I personally felt when listening to Aladdin

      This publication was made possible by support of the Carl Nielsen Foundation.

      - Juliette Dominski

  • Instrumentation +
    • Flute Ensemble (7 players):

      Flute 1
      Flute 2
      Flute 3
      Flute 4
      Alto Flute
      Basso Flute

  • About the composer +
    • Carl August Nielsen (9 June 1865 – 3 October 1931) was a Danish musician, conductor and violinist, widely recognized as his country's greatest composer. Brought up by poor but musically talented parents on the island of Funen, he demonstrated his musical abilities at an early age. He initially played in a military band before attending the Royal Danish Academy of Music in Copenhagen from 1884 until December 1886. He premiered his Op. 1, Suite for Strings, in 1888, at the age of 23. The following year, Nielsen began a 16-year stint as a second violinist in the prestigious Royal Danish Orchestra under the conductor Johan Svendsen, during which he played in Giuseppe Verdi's Falstaff and Otello at their Danish premieres. In 1916, he took a post teaching at the Royal Academy and continued to work there until his death.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover graphics and layout: Gaia Rodriques
      Drawing: Thomas Brundin
      Engraving: Ary Golomb
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER