You cart is empty

Arctic Nights

Composer: Daniel Berg

Instrument: Percussion Quintet

Level: unknown

Published: 2023

Price: €60.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • My good friend, the artist Peter Christensson, one day showed me some of his new artwork. The pictures were abstract but got the form of early expeditions to the Arctic. Peter told me, everything started with a dream about a polar swimmer and the world this person met on his journey to the North Pole.

      With my music, I want to enhance mood, pulse, nuances in the art and poetry of Peter Christensson. The irregular rhythm reinforces the feeling of unease, and the music ultimately aims upwards in the harmonics – a symbol for survival.

      At horizon or below, a poem begins.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Required Instruments

      2 Vibraphones
      2 Marimbas (4 1/3 and 5.0)
      1 PJ Theater Lightning or China Cymbal
      1 Brake Drum
      2 Bongos
      2 Tom-Toms
      1 Floor Tom

  • About the composer +
    • Daniel Berg is a Swedish composer, musician and professor in classical percussion. He combines the role of writing music with being a versatile musician and teaches solo percussion and chamber music at the University College of Music in Gothenburg, Stockholm and Örebro in Sweden. 

      In his passion to promote the marimba as a solo- and chamber music instrument, Daniel has worked intimately with a number of composers who have written original music for the instrument. This includes more than 250 world premieres for solo and chamber works. Daniel Berg is an artist of Bergerault Marimbas and Elite Mallets. 

      As a composer Daniel has written a lot for percussion published by Edition Svitzer like his Kroumata for percussion sextet, Images for Percussion Duo and Yán Jiāng (Magma) for solo marimba - a commission from the Taiwan World Percussion Competition 2020.

  • Credits +
    • Artwork/photo: Peter Christensson
      Photo (Daniel Berg): Jon Liinason
      Front Cover: Nicola Lee
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER