You cart is empty

Two Movements for Guitar

Composer: Daniel Berg

Instrument: Guitar

Level: Advanced

Published: 2024

Price: €25.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Some years ago, I composed Fusion for guitar and marimba to my duo with Christer Brodén. He liked the harmonies and rhythms in the piece and asked me to write a solo piece in similar style. To get a strong punch to the music, I tuned the low E-string to a D. Since Christer also is very much influenced by the culture of Spain, where he studied guitar, I asked for a title to my music and he suggested ¿Que Pasa? – what happens?

      On tour with Christer, I heard him play the beautiful classical Homenaje a la Guitarra by Eduardo Sainz de la Maza and got inspiration to write another piece for him. As a contrast to ¿Que Pasa? I wanted to create a calm meditative work where the focus should be the warm full sound from the guitar comparing to the rhythmical and energic from the earlier piece. To really get this contrast and try to find the meditation I ended up with writing the piece in boxes where the guitar soloist could find his/hers way and unique interpretation. With the E-string tuned to a D, I got other flageolets than usual and as a homage to Eduardo Sainz de la Maza, I used same chord and rhythm in the beginning, but now with a different tuning and the result was Reminiscencia a la Guitarra.

      Two Movements for Guitar contains two standalone pieces, however they work really well to play as a piece with two movements - I. Reminiscencia a la Guitarra and II. ¿Que Pasa?

  • Instrumentation +
    • Guitar

  • Watch+
    • Performed by Christer Brodén

  • About the composer +
    • Daniel Berg is a Swedish composer, musician, and professor in classical percussion at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm and at the Academy of music and drama in Gothenburg.

      In his passion to promote the marimba as a solo- and chamber music instrument, Daniel has worked intimately with a number of composers who have written original music for the instrument. This includes more than 300 world premier for solo and chamber works. Daniel Berg is a marimba artist of Bergerault and Elite Mallets.

      As a composer Daniel has written a lot for solo marimba like Mistral (for Michael Burritt), Phoenix (for Robert van Sice) and Yán Jiâng (for  the Taiwan World Percussion Competition). His music for percussion ensemble have been appreciated and often performed like Kroumata (for sextet) and Arctic Nights (for quintet) - all published by Edition Svitzer.

  • Credits +
    • Artwork (photo): Peter Christensson
      Photos: Harry Friberg
      Cover: Nicola Lee
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER