You cart is empty

Dark Shadows

Composer: Daniel Berg

Instrument: Flute and Marimba

Level: Intermediate/Advanced

Published: 2020

Price: €25.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Duration: 6 min.
      Performing Artists: Georgiana Hughes, flute and David Westerbrand, marimba

      For many years, the successful Duo Nimm (flautist Åsa Karlberg and percussionist Olle Pettersson) have performed my work Kinkaku-ji, a meditation for Flauto Alto and Vibraphone. One day, Åsa told me about her new Robert Dick Glissando Headjoint and at the same time asked if I could possibly write a new piece for flute and percussion with her new mouthpiece in mind. In contrast to the calm Kinkaku-ji, I began to compose a work with a lot of speed.  

      At this time, I was in a state of darkness where people in my presence showed a shadow of hatred and evil I didn't think existed. The power of the music is incredibly strong and through the composition I was able to somehow react and express my feelings. The harmonies are therefore dark, the rhythms give a feeling of worry and the flute's glissando amplifies the inner pain - an attempt to musically describe the Dark Shadows.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Flute and Marimba

  • Watch+
    • Dark Shadow by Daniel Berg

      Dark Shadow by Daniel Berg

  • About the composer +
    • Daniel Berg is a versatile marimba soloist, composer and educator. He holds the position as the percussion and chamber music teacher at the University Colleges of Music in Stockholm, Örebro and Gothenburg (Sweden).    

      In his passion to promote the marimba as a solo- and chamber music instrument, Daniel has worked intimately with a number of composers who have written original music for the instrument. This includes more than 250 world premieres for solo and chamber works. Daniel Berg is an artist of Bergerault Marimbas and Elite Mallets.  

      As a composer Daniel has written a lot for percussion published by Edition Svitzer. Solo pieces for marimba like Helios, Phoenix and Twilight Garden and the series of Easy Duets and Easy Solos who become a best seller for young percussion players round the world.

  • Credits +
    • Enamel painting (front cover): Bengt Berglund
      Front Cover: Ronni Kot Wenzell
      Photo (Daniel Berg): Jon Liinason
      Translation (English): Robert Oetomo
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER