You cart is empty


Composer: Friedrich Kuhlau

Instrument: Flute Ensemble

Level: Advanced

Published: 2012

Price: €41.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • Edited by András Adorján
      Duration: 11 min.

      The present edition is an arrangement for 10 flutes of one of his best known compositions for piano: his „Sonatina in G major, opus 20 No. 2“ (first published in 1820). This arrangement was made by Asger Lund Christiansen for concerts held in Copenhagen (1986) and in Cologne and Munich (1987) to celebrate Kuhlau’s 200th and 201st birthdays, respectively. The performers were the flutists Jean-Pierre Rampal, András Adorján, William Bennett, Michel Debost, Aurèle Nicolet, Ransom Wilson and the Kuhlau-Kvartet (Toke Lund Christiansen, Henrik Svitzer, Ole Birger Pedersen, Bent Larsen).

  • Instrumentation +
    • Flute Ensemble:

      Piccolo, 7 Flutes and 2 Alto Flutes

  • About the composer +
    • Friedrich Kuhlau was born in 1786 in Uelzen in Germany and died in 1832 in Denmark in Lyngby near Copenhagen. 1810 he had decided to settle in Denmark in order to avoid forced conscription in the Napoleonic army and was granted Danish citizenship as early as 1813. With his incidental music (op. 100) to Elverhøj (The Elf Hill), composed for a play by the Danish poet Johan Ludwig Heiberg (1791–1860), Kuhlau became the Danish composer of his time.

      He was one of the most prolific composers for flute. His works include music for flute in various combinations – for flute alone, two flutes, three flutes, four flutes, flute and piano, three quintetts for flute and strings and this trio for two flutes and piano. Besides providing good literature for the flute Kuhlau was equally productive and successful composing for the piano.