You cart is empty


Composer: Michael Bønsdorf

Instrument: Flute and Guitar

Level: Advanced

Published: 2023

Price: €30.00

Item details

  • Description +
    • "Butterflies" (2004, rev. 2017/2022) was written for and premiered by the Danish Duo Takemitsu (Marianne Leth and Anders Borbye). The three movements describe the three stages in the Butterfly's creation. From Caterpillar with the meandering material in the first movement, to Chrysalis where the music in the movement is very static and monotonous, until the fast and brilliant last movement, where the Butterfly unfolds in all its beauty. The work was recorded in 2022 by flutist Linnéa Villén and guitarist Allan Sjølin on the album "LEPIDOPTERANS" Music for flute & guitar by Michael Bønsdorf and Morten Skjoldan Petersen.

  • Instrumentation +
    • Flute and Guitar

  • About the composer +
    • Michael Bønsdorf earned his master’s degree in musicology from The University of Aalborg and studied composition and music theory privately with the Danish composers Svend Christiansen, Svend Hvidtfelt Nielsen and Niels Marthinsen. He is a member of The Danish Association of Composers and has been awarded a number of grants, i.a. a two-year grant from The Danish Arts Council and from The Velux Foundation enabling him to study abroad. Michael Bønsdorf`s output primarily consists of chamber and choral music.

  • Credits +
    • Front Cover Graphics: Nicola Lee
      Photo: Marie Ingerslev
      Printed in Copenhagen, Denmark
      Copyright © Edition SVITZER